Sinclair gets spot in Windies ODI squad

St John’s – Kevin Sinclair was named the only newcomer in the West Indies 14-member squad on Thursday for their series of three One-day Internationals against New Zealand next week in Barbados.

The 22-year-old Guyanese off-spinner played for West Indies in Twenty20 Internationals against Sri Lanka last year in the Caribbean and has so far played six T20Is in which he bowled steadily, if not spectacularly.

On Sinclair, Lead Selector, Most Honourable Desmond Haynes said in a CWI media release: “As we stated before, we are looking to broaden the pool of players, and we have decided to give Sinclair an opportunity in the ODI Series against New Zealand.

“He has been in the system for a while and was also in the ‘A” Team  to play against Bangladesh ‘A’ in the upcoming series. We believe with his calm approach and skills, he will do well in the matches against New Zealand.”

CWI said Guyanese left-arm spinner Gudakesh Motie was named in the squad, but he will have to undergo a fitness assessment on the finger injury he got against India in the ODI Series last month in Trinidad.

Barbadian batting all-rounder Roston Chase is unavailable for selection because of injury, while left-arm spin bowling all-rounder Fabien Allen is also unavailable for personal reasons.

The three matches are last three remaining fixtures for West Indies in the ICC ODI Super League as the Caribbean side aim to automatically qualify for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 India.

West Indies will be seeking to win the series to secure one of the automatic qualification places reserved for the top seven teams in the League table, excluding hosts India.

“New Zealand is a very good cricketing nation, and this will be a very competitive series,” Haynes said. “We have the confidence in the players selected that they will do very well.

“This is the last series of the international season at home, and it would be good to end with some solid performances as we continue to build towards the ICC World Cup in India next year.”

All three matches in the series will be day-nighters starting at 2 p.m. and played under floodlights on August 17, 19, and 21 at Kensington Oval.


Nicholas Pooran (Captain), Shai Hope (Vice Captain), Shamarh Brooks, Keacy Carty, Shimron Hetmyer, Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Gudakesh Motie (subject to fitness), Keemo Paul, Jayden Seales, Kevin Sinclair.


Leave a Reply