BFA names Under-17 squad for Concacaf tourney

The Barbados Football Association (BFA) has announced a 20-member squad of almost all home-grown players for the 2023 Concacaf Under-17 Championship.

Centre back Ajani Banton, who is based in South Kent, Connecticut, is the only overseas player.

The tournament gets underway on Saturday in Guatemala and Barbados have been drawn in Group F with the United States of America (USA), Canada and Trinidad and Tobago.

Barbados’ first match will be against the United States on Saturday night, followed by Canada on February 13 and Trinidad and Tobago on February 15. If Barbados advance from the group, they will participate in the round of 16 which begins on February 18.

The top three finishers will advance to the round of 16.

The head coach of the team is Fabian Massiah and the assistant is Kenroy Skinner.


Goalkeepers: Jireh Malcolm Paradise, K’den Hee Chung (Pro Shottas)

Defenders: Ajani Banton (Ballaz Academy), Ajani Payne (BSA), Warren Trotman (Pro Shottas), Zachari Yard (Pro Shottas), Kamari Johnson (Kick Start), Amego Jordan (Pinelands), Kobe Burgess (Pinelands), Ephraim Gill (Pro Shottas), Micaih Clarke (Paradise).

Midfielders: Christian Gill (UWI), Joshua Husbands (Whitehall FA), Jaydon Greenidge (Kick Start), Kairos Greaves (Technique), Shamari Harewood (Paradise), Ronan Lee (Pro Shottas), James Moore (Pro Shottas).

Forwards: Rovaldo Massiah, Che Millington (Pro Shottas).  (Nation News)

Leave a Reply