Bangladesh stun Australia at Women’s Under-19 World Cup

Bangladesh stunned tournament favourites Australia to win by seven wickets with two overs to spare on the opening day of the inaugural ICC Women’s U19 T20 World Cup 2023 in Willowmoore Park, Benoni, South Africa.

Bangladesh limited Australia to 130-5 in their 20 overs before eventually strolling to the target of 132-3 after a wobble in the middle overs.

Captain Rhys Mckenna might have been rueing her decision to bat first when Disha Biswan removed both openers for single figure scores, leaving them 22-2 after three and a half overs. Ella Hayward hit 35 and Claire Moore 52 to steady the innings with their 76-run partnership, which was key in setting the target.

Bangladesh responded from opener Misty Shaha being bowled first ball by going hard at the Australian attack. Afia Prottasha was free flowing in her stroke-filled knock of 24 runs. The star of the show though was wicketkeeper batter Dilara Akter who scored 40 runs off 42 balls with seven boundaries. Her innings calmed the side and brought an assuredness to proceedings befitting of the side’s pre-tournament form.

Victory was sealed when Shorna Akter glanced one off her pads to the fine leg boundary, and in doing so, helped her country to their first ever win over Australia in any International Cricket Competition.

Next up for Bangladesh on Monday are Sri Lanka who were also victorious on the opening day with a seven-wicket win of their own against the United States. Australia will be looking to bounce back against the United States when they face each other on January 16.

Summarised Scores:

Australia Women 130-5 in 20 overs (Claire Moore 52, Ella Hayward 35; Marufa Akter 2-29, Disha Biswan 2-25). Bangladesh Women 132-3 in 18 overs (Dilara Akter 40, Sumaiya Akter 31*; Chloe Ainsworth 2-9). Bangladesh Women won by seven wickets.

Scotland Women 99-9 in 20 overs (Emma Walsingham 37, Katherine Fraser 17; Vaishnave Mahesh 2-19, Indhuja Nandakumar 2-20). United Arab Emirates Women 100-4 in 16.2 overs (Mahika Gaur 33*, Theertha Satish 27; Maisie Maceira 2-7). United Arab Emirates Women won by six wickets

South Africa Women: 166-5 in 20 overs (Simone Lourens 61, Madison Landsman 32; Shafali Verma 2-31). India Women 170-3 in 16.3 overs (Shweta Sehrawat 92*, Shafali Verma 45). India Women won by seven wickets

United States Women 96-9 in 20 overs (Ritu Singh 22, Disha Dhingra 18; Dewmi Vihanga 3-11, Vidushika Perera 2-15). Sri Lanka Women 100-3 in 19 overs (Vishmi Gunarathne 34*, Manudi Nanayakkara 32*; Bhumika Bhadriraju 2-17). Sri Lanka Women won by seven wickets. (JC)

Leave a Reply