West Indies win toss, fielding vs Bangladesh in first Test

North Sound – West Indies won the toss and decided to field against Bangladesh on the first day of the first Test on Thursday at the Vivian Richards Cricket Ground in Antigua.

West Indies have included uncapped Guyanese leg-spinner Gudakesh Motie for his debut, making him the 328th player to wear the maroon cap.

Long-serving pacer Kemar Roach has also been named in the final 11 after he recovered from a hamstring injury he got when playing for Surrey in the English County Championship this past April and passed a fitness test on the eve of the match.


West Indies: Kraigg Brathwaite (captain), John Campbell, Raymon Reifer, Nkrumah Bonner, Jermaine Blackwood, Kyle Mayers, Joshua da Silva (wicketkeeper), Alzarri Joseph, Kemar Roach, Jayden Seales, Gudakesh Motie.

Bangladesh: Shakib Al Hasan (captain), Tamim Iqbal, Mahmudul Hasan Joy, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Mominul Haque, Liton Das, Nurul Hasan (wicketkeeper), Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Mustafizur Rahman, Khaled Ahmed, Ebadot Hossain.

Umpires: Joel Wilson, Chris Gaffaney (New Zealand).

TV umpire: Richard Illingworth (England).

Match referee: Jeff Crowe (New Zealand).

Reserve umpire: Gregory Brathwaite.


Leave a Reply