West Indies win the toss, fielding vs India in 1st ODI

Port of Spain – West Indies won the toss and decided to field against India in the first One-day International on Friday at Queen’s Park Oval in Trinidad.

Two of the sport’s leading all-rounders will miss the match – for the Windies, Jason Holder tested positive for the novel coronavirus (COVID-19) and his return after missing the three previous ODI series has been delayed, and for India, Ravindra Jadeja sustained an injury to his right knee and has been ruled out of the first two ODIs.

With the series not being part of the ICC ODI Super League, which forms part of qualification for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 India, the two sides are using the three ODIs as a platform to test out new talent.


West Indies: Shai Hope (wicketkeeper), Brandon King, Shamarh Brooks, Nicholas Pooran (captain), Rovman Powell, Akeal Hosein, Romario Shepherd, Kyle Mayers, Gudakesh Motie, Alzarri Joseph, Jaydon Seales.

India: Shikhar Dhawan (captain), Shubman Gill, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Sanju Samson (wicketkeeper), Deepak Hooda, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mohammed Siraj, Prasidh Krishna.

Umpires: Joel Wilson, Leslie Reifer Jr.

TV umpire: Gregory Brathwaite.

Match referee: Sir Richie Richardson.

Reserve umpire: Nigel Duguid.


Leave a Reply