West Indies win the toss and fielding vs England in the third Test

ST GEORGE’S – West Indies won the toss and decided to field against England on the first day of the deciding third Test on Thursday at the National Cricket Stadium in the Spice Isle of Grenada.

Both sides have made one change to their line-ups from the previous match, with the Windies replacing left-arm spinner Veerasammy Permaul with left-handed all-rounder Kyle Mayers, and the English bringing back Craig Overton for fellow pacer Matthew Fisher after overcoming the illness that sidelined him in Barbados.

The three-Test series for the Vivian Richards and Ian Botham Trophy is level at 0-0 after the first two Tests in the series – two Saturdays ago at the Vivian Richards Cricket Ground in Antigua, and last Sunday at Kensington Oval in Barbados – ended in draws.


West Indies: Kraigg Brathwaite (captain), John Campbell, Shamarh Brooks, Nkrumah Bonner, Jermaine Blackwood, Kyle Mayers, Jason Holder, Joshua da Silva (wicketkeeper), Alzarri Joseph, Kemar Roach, Jayden Seales.

England: Joe Root (captain), Alex Lees, Zak Crawley, Dan Lawrence, Ben Stokes, Jonny Bairstow, Ben Foakes (wicketkeeper), Chris Woakes, Craig Overton, Jack Leach, Saqib Mahmood.

Umpires: Joel Wilson, Gregory Brathwaite.

TV umpire: Leslie Reifer Jr.

Match referee: Sir Richie Richardson.

Reserve umpire: Nigel Duguid.


Leave a Reply