Scorpions win the toss and batting vs Pride in the WI Championship

Jamaica Scorpions won the toss and decided to bat against Barbados Pride on the first day of their second round match in the West Indies Championship on Tuesday at Kensington Oval.

Pride have made two changes to their line-up with West Indies international Shamarh Brooks and off-spinner Chaim Holder replacing all-rounder Justin Greaves and injured pacer Chemar Holder.

Scorpions have made only one change with West Indies international Nkrumah Bonner replacing pacer Derval Green.

Pride top the standings with 21 points after a four-wicket win over Hurricanes in the first round at the same venue.

Scorpions are fifth in the table with 4.4 points after they crumbled to three-wicket loss against Trinidad & Tobago Red Force in their first match at the Brian Lara Cricket Academy in Tarouba, Trinidad.


Pride: Kraigg Brathwaite (captain), Shayne Moseley, Shamarh Brooks, Jonathan Carter, Shane Dowrich (wicketkeeper), Raymon Reifer, Shamar Springer, Keon Harding, CChaim Holder, Jomel Warrican, Ramon Simmonds.

Scorpions: John Campbell (captain), Leroy Lugg, Nkrumah Bonner, Jermaine Blackwood, Paul Palmer, Alwyn Williams, Romaine Morris (wicketkeeper), Jamie Merchant, Marquino Mindley, Nicholson Gordon, Patrick Harty.

Umpires: Gregory Brathwaite, Jonathan Blades.

Match referee: Stephen Proverbs.

Reserve umpire: Ryan Willoughby.


Leave a Reply