New CPL Franchise unveiled

The Antigua & Barbuda Falcons were officially unveiled as the newest franchise in the
Republic Bank Caribbean Premier League (CPL) on Tuesday.

The franchise was launched during a gala opening ceremony held at the Sir Vivian Richards
Stadium which will serve as their home when they compete in the 2024 edition of the CPL.
WORLDWIDE Sports Management Group (WSMG) are the franchise owners and Parimatch-
the world’s number one gaming platform- will serve as the franchise’s title sponsor.

Founder of WSMG Krishna Persuad expressed his delight at having a team for the regional
event capable of attracting sold out audiences. “The Antigua & Barbuda Falcons will bring a
unique energy and vitality to the Republic Bank CPL,” he began. “We are ready to fly high and
conquer what is before us. We want to establish a winner’s culture within the team and also a
culture of winning and success off the field.”

Persuad added “What you are witnessing today as we unveil the Antigua & Barbuda Falcons is
something truly special and I want to thank the Government of Antigua & Barbuda who have
worked closely with us to bring the Antigua & Barbuda Falcons to life.”

General Manager of the Franchise Jeff Miller said “Welcome back Antigua & Barbuda! This is
where the ‘party’ in cricket started and we are delighted to be back for this exciting event. We
plan to have a full house for every match with our Antigua & Barbuda Falcons on show. This is
what we have been waiting for. It will be amazing to see the Sir Vivian Richard Stadium
packed and our lovely super fans enjoying the action and the atmosphere as well as seeing
great cricket on the field and non-stop party in the stands with all the festivities that come
with cricket in the West Indies.”

The details on the overall structure of the Falcons, including their coaching and management
staff for the team, is set to be announced at a later date.
Antigua & Barbuda previously hosted a franchise called the Antigua Hawksbill in the first two
CPL seasons but they were largely unsuccessful, winning only three matches and being
replaced by St Kitts and Nevis Patriots in 2015.

This upcoming season will be the first in CPL history not to feature three time champions
Jamaica Tallawahs. It was announced back in December 2023 that their non appearance is due
to the owners failing to keep the franchise afloat and instead sold it back to the competition.
The regional franchise T20 competition will take place from August 28 to October 6 and plans
to have matches in Antigua & Barbuda, Barbados, Guyana, St Kitts & Nevis, St Lucia and
Trinidad & Tobago. The window for the 2024 CPL campaign was originally expected to span
from August 17 to September 25, akin to the last season’s schedule which ran from August 16
and September 24.

The post New CPL Franchise unveiled appeared first on

Leave a Reply