Ireland win the toss, fielding vs Windies in the third ODI

Kingston – Ireland won the toss and decided to field against West Indies in the decisive third and final One-day International on Sunday at Sabina Park in Jamaica.

Both sides are playing unchanged line-ups.

The three-match series is level 1-1, after the Windies won the first ODI by 24 runs two Saturdays ago at the same venue, where a severely depleted Irish line-up bounced back to clinch a five-wicket win under the Duckworth-Lewis Method in the rain-marred second ODI this past Thursday.

The three ODIs in the series are part of ICC Cricket World Cup Super League that automatically qualifies seven teams to the CWC 2023 India.

West Indies are presently fifth in the table with 50 points from 11 matches, and Ireland are fourth with 60 points from 17 matches, and a win for the Caribbean side will greatly enhance their position in the table with tougher assignments to follow.


West Indies: Kieron Pollard (captain), Shai Hope (wicketkeeper), Justin Greaves, Nicholas Pooran, Shamarh Brooks, Roston Chase, Jason Holder, Romario Shepherd, Odean Smith, Alzarri Joseph, Akeal Hosein.

Ireland: Paul Stirling (captain), William Porterfield, Andy McBrine, Harry Tector, Curtis Campher, Neil Rock (wicketkeeper), George Dockrell, Gareth Delany, Mark Adair, Craig Young, Josh Little.

Umpires: Joel Wilson, Gregory Brathwaite.

TV umpire: Leslie Reifer Jr.

Match referee: Sir Richie Richardson.

Reserve umpire: Nigel Duguid.


Leave a Reply