Ireland win the toss, fielding vs Windies in the second ODI

Kingston – Ireland won the toss and decided to field against West Indies in the second One-day International on Thursday at Sabina Park in Jamaica.

The Windies are unchanged, but the Irish have been forced to make two changes because of injury and players being impacted by the novel coronavirus (COVID-19).

Opener Paul Stirling will replace Andrew Balbirnie and will lead Ireland in the match, and Neil Rock takes the place of Lorcan Tucker and will keep wicket.

West Indies lead the three-match series 1-0 after they won the first ODI this past Saturday by 24 runs.

The cricket authorities of the two sides agreed earlier this week to reschedule the last two matches of the series, after a COVID-19 outbreak in the Ireland squad contributed to this math being postponed.

As a result, the Twenty20 International between the two teams that was scheduled for Sunday at the same venue has been cancelled.

The three ODIs in the series are part of ICC Cricket World Cup Super League that automatically qualifies seven teams to the CWC 2023 India.

The Windies, on 50 points, moved up to fifth in the 13-team table with five wins out of their 10 matches, and Ireland, on the same number of points, hang onto fourth place with a superior net run rate after four wins and two no-results from their 16 matches.


West Indies: Kieron Pollard (captain), Shai Hope (wicketkeeper), Justin Greaves, Nicholas Pooran, Shamarh Brooks, Roston Chase, Jason Holder, Romario Shepherd, Odean Smith, Alzarri Joseph, Akeal Hosein.

Ireland: Paul Stirling (captain), William Porterfield, Andy McBrine, Harry Tector, Curtis Campher, Neil Rock (wicketkeeper), George Dockrell, Gareth Delany, Mark Adair, Craig Young, Josh Little.

Umpires: Joel Wilson, Leslie Reifer Jr.

TV umpire: Nigel Duguid.

Match referee: Sir Richie Richardson.

Reserve umpire: Gregory Brathwaite.


Leave a Reply