India cruise to eight-wicket win over Ireland

East Meadow, New York – India captain Rohit Sharma followed up destructive bowling from his side with a controlled half-century to lead them to an eight-wicket win against Ireland in a low-scoring Group A match of the ICC Men’s Twenty20 World Cup on Wednesday.

Sharma hit the top score of 52 before he retired hurt after being struck on the upper arm by a rising delivery from left-arm pacer Josh Little, and the Indians got off the mark when they successfully chased a modest target of 97 on a dicey Nassau County Stadium pitch.

The India captain made batting look easy on the untrustworthy pitch and struck four fours and three sixes from 37 balls and shared 54-run, second wicket stand with left-handed wicketkeeper-batsman Rishabh Pant to put their side firmly on course for victory.

When Sharma retired at the drinks break after 10 overs, India required a further 21 and Pant got them over the finish line with three fours and two sixes in 36 not out off 26 balls.

Earlier, India’s bowlers, led by Hardik Pandya, produced a sizzling display on the spicy pitch and ripped through Ireland, bowling them out for only 96 in 16 overs.

Pandya bagged three for 27 from his allotted four overs, pace spearhead Jasprit Bumrah ended with two for six from three overs and was shockingly named Player-of-the-Match and left-arm pacer Ashdeep Singh finished with two for 35 from his four overs after he was impactful with the new ball, but he was expensive late on.

Only four Ireland batsmen reached double figures with Gareth Delany leading the way with 26, and he was the only batsman that got 20 or more. (CMC)

Summarised scores:

Ireland 96 all out in 16 overs (Gareth Delany 26; Hardik Pandya 3-27, Jasprit Bumrit 2-6, Arshdeep Singh 2-35). India 97 for two in 12.2 overs (Rohit Sharma 52 retired hurt, Rishabh Pant 36 not out). India won by eight wickets.

The post India cruise to eight-wicket win over Ireland appeared first on

Leave a Reply