Guyana to host CPL final again

The National Stadium in Providence, Guyana will host the 2024 Republic Bank Caribbean Premier League (CPL) final.
The regional franchise T20 competition will take place from August 28 to October 6 and plans to have matches in Antigua & Barbuda, Barbados, Guyana, St Kitts & Nevis, St Lucia and Trinidad & Tobago.

The window for the 2024 CPL campaign was originally expected to span from August 17 to September 25, akin to the last season’s schedule which ran from August 16 and September 24.
Republic Bank CPL’s Chief Executive Officer (CEO) Pete Russell explained the new schedule saying “We are very pleased that this window allows the CPL to give the best players from the Caribbean the opportunity to showcase their talents. The window also allows CPL to sign the best available international players after successful discussion with other leagues to avoid the same clashes we had in 2023.”

John Grave, the Cricket West Indies CEO echoed Russell’s sentiment, adding “We are pleased to have once again worked closely with the CPL to strategically prioritise this window so that all West Indian cricketers can participate in the full CPL tournament once again.

With the 2024 CPL taking place just two months after hosting the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup in the region, it provides another fantastic opportunity for our fans to enjoy some world class exciting T20 cricket and for our regional governments to benefit from more cricket generated economic activity.”
This season will be the first in CPL history not to feature three time champions Jamaica
Tallawahs. It was announced back in December that their non appearance is due to the owners
failing to keep the franchise afloat and instead sold it back to the competition.
A franchise based in Antigua and Barbuda will replace the Tallawahs.

The post Guyana to host CPL final again appeared first on

Leave a Reply