Election Results 2022: St Michael 2

Santia Bradshaw, who on many occasions deputised in the absence of Prime Minister Mia Mottley, was the second Member of Parliament to be declared on Wednesday night.

The former Minister of Education, like the party leader, made light work of the opposition as the Barbados Labour Party secured all 11 seats from St Michael.

St Michael South East

Santia Bradshaw has made it a hat-trick of victories in St Michael South East.

The Barbados Labour Party candidate and Minister of Education in the last administration totalled 2 786 votes, easily brushing aside the challenge of Democratic Labour Party candidate and former president of the Barbados Union of Teachers Pedro Shepherd, who only garnered 699 votes, while the Alliance Party for Progress’ Reverend Dr Patrick Tannis received 180.

The tallies from ballot boxes NA1 and NB1 were the first to be returned and the trend was set from then. Bradshaw received 976 votes, Shepherd 187 and Tannis 50.

She ended up with 1 017 fewer votes than in the May 2018 General Election.

St Michael West Central

Barbados Labour Party candidate Ian Gooding-Edghill was returned at about 2:39 a.m. today as the representative for St Michael West Central.

The 54-year-old tallied 2 420 votes to record a massive victory over his four challengers, who together mustered 900 votes.

“I plan to continue the works started from 2018. I shall continue to give the best representation [the constituents] have become accustomed to,” Gooding-Edghill said.

The Democratic Labour Party’s Curtis Cave received 795 votes, the Alliance Party for Progress’ Veronica Price, 30; Solutions Barbados’ Angela Edey, 64; while David Roberts of the Barbados Free Party received 11 votes.

City of Bridgetown

Corey Alexander Lane became the new Member of Parliament for the City of Bridgetown after an emphatic win Thursday morning.

Lane, running on the ticket of the ruling Barbados Labour Party (BLP), won every single box and defeated his nearest rival, Kemar Stuart, of the Democratic Labour Party, by more than 1 600 votes.

Minutes after the announcement, buoyant BLP supporters, who had been camped in front of the gates of the Donald Henry Auditorium of Bethel Church on Bay Street for more than two hours, screamed themselves hoarse in delight.

Lane tallied 2 089 votes, well clear of Stuart, who mustered only 459.

Marva Lashley-Todd, of the Alliance Party for Progress, collected just 79 and independent Fallon Best, 69.

St Michael North West

Re-elected Member of Parliament for St Michael North West Neil Rowe was swept up by supporters with chants of “real representation by Rowe”, outside The Ellerslie School after being declared the winner Thursday morning.

At the end of the count, which lasted just under four hours in the V. Eudene Barriteau Auditorium, Rowe defeated Democratic Labour Party’s (DLP) first-time candidate Ryan Walters 1 914 to 1 072 – a margin of 842 votes.

In 2018, Rowe defeated the DLP’s Chris Sinckler 2 489 to 1 991, gaining 55.56 per cent of the vote.

Walters was not present at the centre when the Barbados Labour Party’s Rowe accepted the declaration of returning officer Charles Haynes that he was victorious from the 2 986 ballots cast, of which 24 were spoilt. Rowe said as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic a number of people were hesitant to go to the polls.

St Michael South Central

Economist and a minister in the last Mia Mottley administration, Marsha Caddle, defeated the Democratic Labour Party’s Richard Sealy and David Gill of the Alliance Party for Progress (APP) in a race that some people thought may have been won by Sealy this time around.

“It has been the absolute privilege of my life to represent St Michael South Central over the last three and a half years and I expect much greater things. We are from day one buckling down to continue the hard work and I am just extremely thankful for this opportunity,” she said.

Caddle polled 1 936 votes to Sealy’s 932 and Gill’s 195. She outnumbered Sealy in every one of the 17 ballot boxes from polling stations, on a night when voters waited anxiously for results in a constituency where counting of ballots took close to five hours.

St Michael North

First-timer Davidson Ishmael carried on the tradition of his predecessor Ronald Toppin, bringing home St Michael North for the Barbados Labour Party.

He tallied 2 349 votes to 754 for Ricky Harrison of the Democratic Labour Party and 201 for Mari Phillips of the Alliance Party for Progress.



Leave a Reply