Barbados Royals announce retained list for 2024 CPL

The Barbados Royals have announced their retained list ahead of the 2024 Republic Bank Caribbean Premier League (CPL) draft.

Hard-hitting South African duo Quinton de Kock and David Miller return to the Royals for this season. They will be joined by overseas bowlers Maheesh Theekshana, Naveen-ul-Haq, and Keshav Maharaj. These additions bring the total confirmed players to 14, leaving just three spots to fill at the draft in July.

Headlining the retained list are West Indies T20 captain Rovman Powell, former West Indies captain Jason Holder, as well as Obed McCoy and promising youngster Ramon Simmonds.

Alick Athanaze, Kevin Wickham, Nyeem Young, Rivaldo Clarke, and Rahkeem Cornwall are also retained.

The full list of retained and signed players for the Royals are as follows:

Rovman Powell

Jason Holder

David Miller

Quinton de Kock

Maheesh Theekshana

Alick Athanaze


Obed McCoy

Kevin Wickham

Keshav Maharaj

Rahkeem Cornwall

Nyeem Young

Rivaldo Clarke

Ramon Simmonds

The Barbados Royals will get their 2024 Republic Bank Caribbean Premier League (CPL) campaign underway on September 1 when they take on the newly formed Antigua & Barbuda Falcons (ABF) at the Sir Vivian Richards Stadium.

The two-time CPL winners (2014 and 2019) will then play St Kitts & Nevis Patriots on September 6 at Warner Park Sporting Complex. The biggest party in sport comes to Barbados on September 11 as the Royals host ABF in the reverse fixture at Kensington Oval. September 13 and 14 will see beaten finalists Trinidad Knight Riders and defending champions Guyana Amazon Warriors take on the Royals on rival turf. 

The Royals conclude the fourth and final match of their home leg against St Kitts & Nevis Patriots on September 17. Guyana’s Providence Stadium will then take over as hosts for the Royals for their games against St Lucia Kings (21 and 22) and Guyana Amazon Warriors on September 25. The final group stage match for the Royals is against Trinidad Knight Riders in Trinidad on September 27. 

The third and fourth place team will compete in the Eliminator at Providence Stadium on October 1, while first plays second one day later in a shootout to determine who makes it to the final. 

The loser of that qualifier gets another opportunity to make the final as they face the Eliminator winner on October 4. Providence Stadium will once again play hosts for the 2024 CPL final as the biggest party in sport comes to a conclusion on October 6. The Barbados Royals finished fifth in the standings with seven points consisting of three wins and six defeats in 10 matches last year. (JC) 

The post Barbados Royals announce retained list for 2024 CPL appeared first on

Leave a Reply