Barbados Cabinet 2022

On January 24, Prime Minister Mia Mottley addressed the country and announced the following appointments.

Mia Amor Mottley: Prime Minister and Minister of Finance and Economic Affairs (also with responsibility for Culture, National Security, the Public Service, CARICOM and the development commissions)

Santia Bradshaw: Deputy Prime Minister, Minister of Transport, Works and Water Resources, and Leader of Government Business in the House of Assembly (Senior Minister with responsibility for infrastructure)

Dale Marshall: Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs (Senior Minister with responsibility for governance)

The Most Honourable Dr Jerome Walcott: Minister of Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade (Senior Minister with responsibility for Social and Environmental Policy)

Kerrie Symmonds: Minister of Energy, Business Development and International Business (Senior Minister with responsibility for the productive sectors)

Dr William Duguid: Senior Minister with responsibility for infrastructural projects and town planning matters in the Office of the Prime Minister

Wilfred Abrahams: Minister of Home Affairs and Information

Indar Weir: Minister of Agriculture and Food and Nutritional Security

Ian Gooding-Edghill: Minister of Health and Wellness

Lisa Cummins: Minister of Tourism and International Transport (with responsibility for Grantley Adams International Airport and the Bridgetown Port)

Kay McConney: Minister of Education, Technological and Vocational Training

Kirk Humphrey: Minister of People Empowerment and Elder Affairs

Dwight Sutherland: Minister of Housing, Lands and Maintenance

Adrian Forde: Minister of Environment, National Beautification, and the Blue and Green Economy

Colin Jordan: Minister of Labour and Social Security and the Third Sector

Charles Griffith: Minister of Youth, Sports and Community Empowerment

Davidson Ishmael: Minister of Industry, Innovation, Science and Technology (new)

Ryan Straughn: Minister in the Ministry of Finance and Economic Affairs

Dr Shantal Munro-Knight: Minister in the Prime Minister’s Office (new)

Dr Sonia Browne: Minister of State in the Ministry of Health and Wellness with responsibility for the Queen Elizabeth Hospital and non-communicable diseases (new)

Sandra Husbands: Minister of State in the Ministry of Foreign Trade and Business Development


Government Senators

President: Reginald Farley (returned)

Deputy President: Elizabeth Thompson (new)

The Most Honourable Dr Jerome Walcott (returning)

Lisa Cummins (returning)

Dr Shantal Munro-Knight (new)

Dr Crystal Haynes (returning)

John King (former MP)

Pat Parris (new)

Shanika Roberts-Odle (new)

Lorenzo Harewood (new)

Andwale Boyce (new)

*Khaleel Kothdiwala (awaiting constitutional amendment and approval by Cabinet) NB: (Independent senators to be named in due course by The Most Honourable Dame Sandra Mason, President of Barbados.)


Leave a Reply