Opposition NDC wins general election in Grenada

ST GEORGE’S, Grenada – The main opposition National Democratic Congress (NDC) won today’s general election, according to preliminary results released here.

The NDC has been declared victor in nine of the 15 seats with the remainder going to the New National Party (NNP) of Prime Minister Dr Keith Mitchell.

Several government ministers including the Finance Minister Gregory Bowen; the Minister of Legal Affairs, Kindra Mathurin-Stewart; the Minister with responsibility for Forestry and Fisheries, Alvin Da Breo; as well as the Minister for Infrastructure Development, Nolan Cox; and Pamela Moses, the Minster for Information and Communications Technology, all lost their seats in the election.

NDC leader, Dickon Mitchell, 44, who took over the opposition party in October last year, defeated Foreign Affairs Minister Oliver Joseph by a margin of 4 414 to 2 742 votes in the St David constituency.

Earlier, Prime Minister Keith Mitchell comfortably won his St George North West seat. Mitchell, who called the general election ahead of the constitutional March 2023 deadline, polled 2 211 votes as against 773 for Jonathan LaCrette of the main opposition National Democratic Congress. (CMC)

Leave a Reply