Hope and Thomas recalled to T20 squad

Port of Spain – Wicket-keeper/batsman Shai Hope and fast bowler Oshane Thomas have earned recalls and are part of the 15-man West Indies squad named for the five-match Kuhl Stylish Fans T20I Series powered by Black and White against India.

Thomas played his last match in this format in Pakistan in December 2021 while Hope, the One-Day captain, last played in India in February 2022.

The series starts on August 3 at the Brian Lara Cricket Academy in Trinidad.

All 15 members of the provisional squad will travel to all matches, but there will be a 13-member squad for each match, from which the final XI will be selected.

Lead Selector, The Most Honourable Desmond Haynes said: “The squad is selected with the next ICC Men’s T20 World Cup in mind. We are looking at various plans as we try to find the right combinations. As we prepare, we are looking to build a unit which we believe can do the job when we host the global event in just under a year. We have some match-winners in our line-up and we will look to have the right kind of preparation, starting here in Trinidad on Thursday.”

Haynes added: “We also have other players who could come into consideration going forward; with the Caribbean Premier League starting next month, others will come into the reckoning.”

After Thursday’s opening match, teams then move to the Guyana National Stadium for the second and third fixtures on August 6 and 8.

The series will climax with the blockbuster weekend at the Broward County Stadium, Lauderhill, Florida for the final matches on August 12 and 13. All matches start at 10:30 a.m. local time (9:30 a.m. Jamaica Time).

Full Squad: Rovman Powell (Captain), Kyle Mayers (Vice Captain), Johnson Charles, Roston Chase, Shimron Hetmyer, Jason Holder, Shai Hope, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Brandon King, Obed McCoy, Nicholas Pooran, Romario Shepherd, Odean Smith and Oshane Thomas.

Match Schedule:

Kuhl Stylish Fans T20I Series powered by Black and White

3 August: 1st T20I, Brian Lara Cricket Academy, Trinidad

6 August: 2nd T20I, National Stadium, Guyana

8 August: 3rd T20I, National Stadium Guyana

12 August: 4th T20I, Broward County Stadium, Lauderhill, Florida

13 August: 5th T20I, Broward County Stadium, Lauderhill, Florida

Start time: 10:30 a.m. (9:30 a.m. Jamaica)


Leave a Reply