Double delight for Charles F. Broome

Buoyed by their exuberant supporters, Charles F Broome Memorial Primary School won both the Boys’ and Girls’ divisions in the newly formed Marcia Trotman Zone at the Usain Bolt Sports Complex yesterday.

The Government Hill, St Michael, school overcame a resilient St George’s Primary to win by five points in the Boys Division on day four of the Chefette Frosteez National Primary School Athlete Championship (NAPSAC).

St George Primary led proceedings for most of the day’s action but lost out 232 to 227 in the points standing when the dust settled after the relays. Selah Primary placed third with 177 points.

The route to the Girls’ division title was far simpler, as 248 points, 35 more than St George Primary, were enough to see Charles F Broome home. Selah Primary were adrift in third place with 170 points.

Davonte Green’s stellar performances in the Under-13 category saw him win this zone’s first ever Victor Ludorum award.

The St George Primary student was particularly impressive in the Boys’ 800 Metre Open Run when he finished with the fastest time of 2 minutes 45:86 seconds in the heats, comfortably ahead of Jario Evans from Bay Primary, who ran 2:49:06. Green also won his 400 metre dash at 1:08:61 and placed second in the long jump to finish with 28 points.

Kaiya Franklin-Warner was the star of her Under-11 category, lengthening her stride to glide away from her competitors effortlessly to make each victory appear more routine than the last.

The ten-year-old Trinity Academy student won the 100 (14.44 seconds), 200 (30.88) and 300 metres in 49:85. The most conclusive of those wins being the 200 metre where runner up Ijahrika Mounter came in at 32:38, losing sight of Franklin-Warner after the first 80 metres.

NAPSAC continues on Monday when the Patsy Callendar Zone will be held. The schools in that zone are: St Winifred’s School, West Terrace Primary, St Silas Primary, St Albans Primary, Mount Tabor Primary, Westbury Primary, George Lamming Primary, Vauxhall Primary, Legacy Preparatory, Wills Primary and Imperial Private School.

Legacy Preparatory and Imperial Private School will be competing in their first ever full edition of NAPSAC after taking part in last year’s distance relays.

Final standings:


Charles F Broome Memorial 248
St George Primary School 213
Selah Primary 170
Bay Primary                                        165
Elliott Belgrave Primary School 91
Trinity Academy 91
St James Academy 46
St Margaret’s Primary 47
Beyond the Box Education 22
St Mary’s Primary School 19
St Patrick’s Roman Catholic 8


Charles F Broome Memorial 232
St George Primary School 227
Selah Primary 177
Bay Primary 171
St Mary’s Primary School 81
St James Primary 63
Trinity Academy 61
St Margaret’s Primary 48
Elliott Belgrave Primary School 26
Beyond the Box Education 22


Leave a Reply

Generated by Feedzy