Amazon Warriors finally lift CPL trophy

Guyana Amazon Warriors have won the 2023 Republic Bank Caribbean Premier League (CPL) final with a nine-wicket victory over Trinbago Knight Riders to seal their maiden title.

Amazon Warriors won the toss and chose to bowl first at the Providence Stadium, dismissing their opponents for just 94 runs, thanks to Dwaine Pretorius’ four-wicket haul.

The chase was not as straightforward as one would imagine, but the hosts got home, ending on 99-1 in 14 overs.

A 24-run opening partnership between Chadwick Walton (10)  and Mark Deyal (16) proved to be a false dawn for the Knight Riders as wickets fell in regular intervals.

Keacy Carty was the only contributor of note with 38 runs, which included two boundaries and one six, as only three batsmen made double figures.

South African medium fast bowler Pretorius, 34, finished with figures of 4-26 and proved too challenging on a wicket that didn’t encourage strokeplay. Gudakesh Motie and captain Imran Taahir were also very economical conceding just seven and eight runs, respectively, in their four-over spells.

The Knight Riders deployed spin early on in the chase in an attempt to get a foothold into the game and it paid off with Akeal Hosein opening the bowling and dismissing Keemo Paul (11).

That would be as good as it got for the visitors though, as opener Saim Ayub and Barbadian Shai Hope showcased the form that led to them leading the run scoring charts this season. Ayub would get one more half century for the road and he brought it up with style, launching Ali Khan for six over the sight screen to crown a historic night for the franchise.

Speaking after being awarded the Player of the Tournament award, Shai Hope said: “Scoring runs that contribute to [a] win have been my focus. I was just trying to score runs to win games and the tournament overall. The support staff always encouraged me, backed me to do my job and play my role.

“I want to say a huge thank you to the fans. You have been amazing, electrifying every single time we came to play here. You supported us through thick and thin and this is for you guys.”

Hope ended the match with 32 not out which saw him finish the competition as the leading run scorer with a total of 481 runs at an average of 53.44. (JC)

Summarised Scores: Trinbago Knight Riders 94 all out in 18.1 overs (Keacy Carty 38; Dwaine Pretorius 4-26, Gudakesh Motie 2-7). Guyana Amazon Warriors 99-1 in 14 overs (Saim Ayub 52*, Shai Hope 32*). Guyana Amazon Warriors won by nine wickets.


Leave a Reply