Gaston Browne comfortably retains seat

St John’s – Prime Minister Gaston Browne has comfortably won his St John’s City West seat as the ruling Antigua and Barbuda Labour Party (ABLP) took two of the three seats declared so far in Wednesday’s general election.

According to the preliminary figures released by the Antigua and Barbuda Electoral Commission (ABEC), Prime Minister Brown, seeking to become the first government leader to win three consecutive general elections, polled 1 295 votes as against 621 for Alister Thomas of the main opposition United Progressive Party (UPP) and Jamel Knight of the Democratic National Alliance (DNA).

Veteran politician Sir Robin Yearwood won the St. Phillip’s North constituency, the first seat declared.

Sir Robin, of the ABLP, has been the parliamentary representative since 1976. He polled 708 votes to 614 for Alex Browne of the UPP and 18 for Mario Thomas of the DNA.

The Barbuda People’s Movement (BPM), retained the seat on the sister isle of Barbuda, with the incumbent, Trevor Walker, comfortably winning against K Knacyntar Nedd of ABLP.

Walker polled 624 votes to repeat the 2018 results when the BPM trounced the ABLP on the sister isle. Nedd polled 456 votes. (CMC)

Leave a Reply

Generated by Feedzy