Opposition takes early lead in St Kitts election

BASSETERRE – The main opposition St Kitts-Nevis Labour Party (SKNLP) appears heading for victory in the general election here on Saturday after the party won the St Christopher Constituency Number 4 seat and was leading in five other constituencies, according to the preliminary results.

Former tourism minister Lindsay Grant became the first high profile casualty of the election that was called three years ahead of the constitutional deadline, when he lost to newcomer Samal Duggins, who polled 1 269 votes to 761 for Grant of the People’s Action Movement (PAM) and 293 for Kendale Liburd of the People’s Labour Party (PLP).

Former prime minister Dr. Denzil Douglas, is leading comfortably in his St Christopher Constituency Number 6 seat, where the lone independent candidate is yet to garner a single vote.

There are 11 seats at stake in the 15 member Parliament with the Governor General nominating the other four seats.

Earlier, the Electoral Office had declared Eric Evelyn of the Nevis-based Concerned Citizens Movement (CCM) as the victor in the Nevis 10 constituency. (CMC)

Leave a Reply

Generated by Feedzy