West Indies win toss and batting vs India in 2nd ODI

Port of Spain – West Indies won the toss and decided to bat against India in the second One-day International on Sunday at Queen’s Park Oval in Trinidad.

West Indies made one change, bringing in leg-spinner Hayden Walsh Jr to replace Gudakesh Motie after the left-arm spinner suffered a fractured thumb in the first ODI this past Friday.

India made one change with Avesh Khan making his ODI debut in place of fellow pacer Prasidh Krishna.

West Indies trail the three-match series 0-1 after losing the high-scoring first ODI by three runs at the same venue.

The match also marks the 100th ODI for Shai Hope. The West Indies wicketkeeper-batsman made his ODI debut six years ago against Sri Lanka at the Harare Sports Club in the Zimbabwe capital in a three-nation series.

Hope, 28, has become the most prolific West Indies batsman in the format during the time, amassing 4,078 runs at an average of 49.13. His record includes 12 hundreds and 20 half-centuries.


West Indies: Nicholas Pooran (captain), Shai Hope (wicketkeeper), Kyle Mayers, Shamarh Brooks, Brandon King, Rovman Powell, Romario Shepherd, Akeal Hosein, Hayden Walsh, Alzarri Joseph, Jayden Seales.

India: Shikhar Dhawan (captain), Shubman Gill, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Sanju Samson (wicketkeeper), Deepak Hooda, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Siraj, Yuzvendra Chahal, Avesh Khan.

Umpires: Joel Wilson, Gregory Brathwaite.

TV umpire: Nigel Duguid.

Match referee: Sir Richie Richardson.

Reserve umpire: Leslie Reifer Jr.


Leave a Reply

Generated by Feedzy